The Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction has five awards that are given to scholars and students to recognize particular achievements.

2019 SSSI Awards

George Herbert Mead Award Winners

Gary T. Marx, M.I.T. (Emeritus)

Charles Horton Cooley Book Award Winner

Eviatar Zerubavel, Taken for Granted: The Remarkable Power of the Unremarkable

Herbet Blumer Award Winner

Max Papadantonakis, CUNY for “Cultural Othering: Interpersonal Foundations of Nationalist Ethnic Conflict in a Greek Street Market.”

Helena Lopata Mentor Excellence Award Winner

Lisa-Jo van den Scott, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Early-In-Career Award Winner

Stacey Hannem, Wilfred Laurier University

Calls for Nominations for the 2020 Awards (Deadline for all awards: March 1st, 2020):

The Charles Horton Cooley Award for Recent Book or Article

The Herbert Blumer Graduate Student Paper Award

The Helena Lopata Mentor Excellence Award

Early-in-Career Award

Video Abstract Award

SSSI Annual Meetings Distinguished Lecturers