The Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction announces its call for nominations for the 2017 Charles Horton Cooley Book Award. This award is given annually to an author for a book that represents an important contribution to the perspective of symbolic interaction. To be eligible for the 2017 award, a nominated book should have a publication date between 2014 and 2016. Previously nominated works within this three-year publication period remain eligible but must be re-nominated.


Elizabeth Hordge-Freeman (Chair)
The University of South Florida
4202 E Fowler Avenue, CPR 107
Department of Sociology
Tampa, FL  33620


Patrick McGinty
Dept. of Sociology & Anthropology
Western Illinois University
1 University Drive
Macomb, IL 61455
Michael Schwalbe
605 Long Leaf Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27517

Deadline: March 1st, 2018

Winner of the 2019 Charles Horton Cooley Award

Previous Winners