The Herbert Blumer Award is presented annually to the author of the best graduate student paper in the tradition of symbolic interaction. To be eligible for this award, authors must be enrolled in a graduate program. Those who have been awarded a Ph.D. prior to May 2014 are not eligible. Submitted papers cannot have been accepted for publication at the time of this submission, although papers under review may be submitted. The winner of this award may submit the paper for publication in any appropriate journal, including but not limited to Symbolic Interaction.


Daina Harvey (


Andrea Laurent-Simpson (
Tian Xiaoli (

Deadline: March 1st, 2018

Winner of the 2019 Herbert Blumer Graduate Student Paper Award


Previous Winners